Select Page

The aim of the amendments was to prevent Western technology companies from selling to governments that are known to be abusing human rights. However, some technology companies have expressed concern that the scope of controls may be too broad, limiting the ability of security researchers to identify and correct security vulnerabilities. Google and Facebook have criticized the agreement for the restrictions they will set for activities such as penetration testing, information exchange on threats and bounty programs. [6] [7] They argue that the restrictions will weaken the security of participating nations and will do little to contain the threats of non-participating nations. [8] [9] India joined India as the 42nd participating state on 07 December 2017. “Wassenaar Arrangement participating states reviewed the status of a number of current membership applications and agreed at the plenary session to allow India to become the 42nd state participating in the arrangement as soon as the procedural arrangements necessary for ACCESSION to the VA have been finalized,” the group said in a statement. [3] [4] India`s request was supported by Russia, the United States, France and Germany. [5] MECRs are voluntary and non-binding agreements between major suppliers who have agreed to cooperate in their efforts to prevent and regulate the transfer of certain military and dual-use technologies. It aims to prevent the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. It succeeds the Cold War Coordination Committee on Multilateral Export Controls (COCOM) and was founded on 12 July 1996 in Wassenaar, the Netherlands, near The Hague. The Wassenaar agreement is much less stringent than COCOM, focusing mainly on the transparency of national export control regimes and not giving some members a veto over organisational decisions. A secretariat for the management of the agreement is located in Vienna, Austria.

However, as a cocom, it is not a treaty and is therefore not legally binding. The draft agreement is presented in a document entitled “Guidelines and Procedures, including Original Elements.” [1] The list of restricted technologies is divided into two parts, the “double-use goods and technology list” (also known as the Basic List) and the “Ammunition List.” The basic list consists of ten categories based on increasing sophistication: Albania, Chile, Cyprus, Iceland and Serbia are not members of the Wassenaar agreement. Rpc and Israel see below. The basic list contains two nested subsections: Sensitive and Very Sensitive. Among the elements of the highly sensitive list are materials for stealth technology, i.e. devices that could be used for submarine detection, advanced radar and jet thruster technologies. Participation in the Wassenaar agreement opened doors for India to become a member of the Nuclear Suppliers Group, to which India insists on joining. For enhanced defence programs, high-tech connections will also be stimulated. A member of the Wassenaar agreement could also be beneficial to India, as China is not a member of the VA. India is now about to join the nuclear Suppliers Group, as it would increase its position in the world in terms of nuclear energy, technology and development towards a global power. The civil nuclear agreement with the United States resulted in India`s participation in various nuclear and biochemical agreements. In 2017, India became a member of the Wassenaar Arrangement.

India`s accession to the agreement will help India meet the demands of India`s space and defence sectors. India is also ready to become a member of the Australia Group. Benefits of Australia Group membership in India: 1. As mtcr, the Wassenaar arrangement and the Australia Group do not have a membership for China. China maintains India`s accession to the NSG.